tMoA

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
tMoA

~ The only Home on the Web You'll ever need ~

2 posters

Do you believe in angels? I do: DR MAX PEMBERTON explains why a homeless man and the goodness of one woman means that he does

Carol
    Carol
    Admin
    Admin

Do you believe in angels? I do: DR MAX PEMBERTON explains why a homeless man and the goodness of one woman means that he does  Empty Do you believe in angels? I do: DR MAX PEMBERTON explains why a homeless man and the goodness of one woman means that he does

Post  Carol Sat Dec 26, 2015 1:10 pm

Do you believe in angels? I do: DR MAX PEMBERTON explains why a homeless man and the goodness of one woman means that he does  2F9C15F200000578-0-image-a-72_1451091082780
    Do you believe in angels? I do:
    DR MAX PEMBERTON explains why a homeless man and the goodness of one woman means that he does

When I started work as a junior doctor, I used to peer out of the window before Christmas, praying for snow. Childish, I realise, but hospitals tend to be bleak places and always look better with their sharp edges blurred and sparkling. Then I started working in a project offering healthcare to homeless people. We covered some of the toughest parts of inner London, holding impromptu clinics in car parks or side streets.

In the summer it was an adventure, roaming round in T-shirt and jeans with my stethoscope in a rucksack. But then winter came. I suddenly realised snow is lovely when you’ve got central heating, black-and-white films on TV and buttered toast. And those are in short supply when you’re homeless.

That particular winter brought exceptionally low temperatures. An air of panic gripped the team I worked with.
    Army issue sleeping bags were frantically dished out. Nurses and social workers were in tears as they tried to track down patients to make sure they were safe.